Multiple Teams · 2019-2020 Swimming Season Awards

April 2,
This year’s team was a mix of veteran swimmers and those completely new to high school swimming. Two runners took up the challenge of conquering fear of water to learn a life skill:  Sophomore Afreen Talat and Freshman Emma Beauchamp (Most Improved) are now capable swimmers.
With such a mix abilities it took a while for the team to find it grove. Senior Captain Catherine Rybak, this year’s Patriot Award winner helped provide the spark to get the team over the mid season slump. For 4 years Senior Emma Botch’s speed was a driving force on the girls relays earning her the VF Relay Award. The following juniors were a large part of the girls success: Emily Hubbard (MVP), Gabby Lutzo, and Kinsey Deavers. Sophomore Diver Heather Smith finished 3rd at Conference and just missed advancing to District competition by a spot.
The boys team was led by Junior Nic Hakimian (MVP) who won the 100 back at Conference and anchored the GLC 3rd place 200 Free Relay. Hakimian’s individual swims at Sectionals qualified for District competition in the 50 free and 100 back. The other members of the boys 200 free relay were Senior Christian Park, Junior Nathan Herbster and Senior Justin Swanberg. Freshman Alex Kavalec turned in consistent 500 free swims throughout the season.  Some swimmers like Kenny Nguyen, Curtis Casper and Collin Brill (Most Improved) were willing to attempt almost any event.
The energy and excited of the team made for season best swims at Conference, JV Champs and Sectionals by most of the team.  With some many of the Sectional swims just out of scoring position, the hope is that more swimmers will qualify for Districts next year.
Letter Winners:
Nic Hakimian-MVP, GLC 1st Team, 3rd yr letter
Justin Swanberg- GLC Honorable Mention, 3rd yr letter
Christian Park -2nd yr letter
Nathan Herbster – 3rd yr letter
Alex Kavalec- GLC Honorable Mention, 1st yr letter
Kenny Nguyen- 2nd yr letter
Curtis Casper- 1st yr letter
Anthony Cessna- 1st yr letter
Shawn Kopchu-Senior Letter
Joe Cessna- Senior Letter
Roemello Davis-Senior Letter
Emily Hubbard-MVP, GLC Honorable Mention, 3rd yr letter
Gabby Lutzo- 3rd yr letter
Emma Botsch- “VF Relay Award”(placard), 4th yr letter
Kinsey Deavers- 3rd yr letter
Sanibel Whelan- 3rd yr letter
Catherine Rybak- “Patriot Award”, 4th yr letter
Heather Smith- GLC Honorable Mention, 2nd yr letter
Gillian Jacobs- 1st yr letter
Natalie Cole- 3rd yr letter
Maddie Ryant- 1st yr letter
Hannah Porter- 1st yr letter
Mackenzie Griffiths- 1st yr letter
Autumn Zink- Senior Letter; 3rd yr letter
Alexis Jacobson-Senior Letter
Natalie Lungo-Senior Letter
Collin Brill- “Most Improved”
Owen Buchanan
Dominick Martin
Elijah Leirer Crespo
Julio Cruz
Christian Zambory
Will Tirado
Mia Bruner
Brooklynn Bartow
Nadia Sopko
Paige Waggle
Savannah Zambory
Delaney Boatman
Elizabeth Anderson
Malela Haggard
Angelina Myers
Afreen Talat
Sami Davidson
Whisper Beer
Emma Beauchamp-“Most Improved”